NEW ZEALAND TOUR OF BANGLADESH, 2023
The Bangladesh skipper called Ish Sodhi back after Hasan Mahmud ran him out at the non-striker’s end backing up © AFP
The stigma around running a batter out at the non striker’s end backing up was removed by the MCC last year when this type of dismissal was moved from the category of unfair play to run-out. In total, there have been five such run-outs in men’s ODIs, four in men’s Tests, and one-time each in men’s T20Is, women’s ODIs, and women’s T20Is. Hasan Mahmud could have become the 14th to effect the dismissal but Litton Das decided otherwise.
The Bangladesh skipper called Ish Sodhi back after Mahmud ran him out at the non-striker’s end backing up in the second ODI. Sodhi, who was on 17 off 26 at that point, ended up scoring 35, which took New Zealand’s total to 254. Sodhi then bagged a six-wicket haul to star in his team’s 86-run victory on Saturday (September 23).
Sodhi, who hugged Hasan after being called back, later said he was caught a bit off guard venturing out of the crease but was impressed with the gesture of Bangladesh.
“We are competitive people. You are competing to win games for your country so it can get a bit heated. I think I was out by such a small fraction, it caught me off guard. I come from a bit of an old cloth when you give the batter a warning. I understand it is not the rules at the moment. I think it was a great gesture by Bangladesh. They handled it really, really well. I was fortunate that they were able to call me back. I’d like to think I’d do the same thing if I was the bowler,” Sodhi said at the post match press conference.
“I am not a very good batter. It was a nice gesture. I would do the same thing as a bowler. I have played under some great captains for New Zealand in the past few years. I think they would have done the same thing. I think Litton Das was exceptional in the way he handled it. I hugged the bowler and gave Litton a bit of a handshake. We all respect the game of cricket very highly and really endevour to keep the spirit intact,” he said.
“I understand that it is part of the rules of the game now. You’ve seen it all over the world. It is a bit of a controversial issue. They could have easily let me walk off. They showed huge sportsmanship out there today. We are fortunate to be in the winning side but it is important to keep the spirit of the game alive, especially when we are playing such competitive cricket to win games for our country,” he said.
Meanwhile, Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal said he did not see anything wrong with the dismissal, and said there should be a discussion in the team whether they effect such dismissals going forward.
“I think he also shouldn’t have done that,” said Tamim about Sodhi getting out of the crease. “He shouldn’t be surprised too. Whether we take it or not (the dismissal), it is the team’s call. I don’t see anything wrong in it. The rule is there. If we get someone out, or one of us gets out in that manner, I don’t think we should react the way people are reacting nowadays.
“There’s no need for a warning here. It is like a bowled out. Maybe the captain felt that we won’t take that wicket. So he called him back. There’s no right and wrong. Either you do it, or you don’t do it. Nothing wrong in either. I think we should discuss as a team if we want to do it or not. Going forward, I think you will see a lot of teams taking advantage of this.
“I think it is a team decision. We will definitely talk about it after today’s incident. If it is a team decision that we will take wickets in this way, we will. If we don’t want to take it, we will not try it. I don’t think it looks good to bring back a batter after getting him out. Either we take it, or we don’t do it,” said Tamim.