It seems Tim Paine can’t keep himself out of the controversial decisions. For the second time in the ongoing Boxing Day test match between hosts and India, an umpire call concerning Australia’s wicket-keeping batsman created a ruckus within the cricket world.
In the last session of day three of the second test match at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground, Paine was given caught behind off Ravindra Jadeja’s ball only to be overruled by the third umpire.
Paine tried to cut the ball off to the off-side but missed it with the ball travelling into the gloves of India’s wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant who appealed wholeheartedly. Stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane wasted no second in challenging the decision. It seemed a bad call when hotspot failed to spot the nick, but the real-time Snicko Technology showed a delayed spike much to the bemusement of the local crowd. That said, it was enough evidence for the third umpire to overrule the original decision. A flustered Paine, however, had to leave the field.
Former Australian umpire Simon Taufel tried to explain the mindset of the third umpire surrounding the decision. He explained that the umpires are required to look at the technology as conclusive evidence.
“If the ball is close to the bat (or next to the bat), and there is a spike on RTS while the ball goes past the bat or upto one frame past the bat, then that is deemed to conclusive evidence,” Taufel said.
Excellent explaination from Simon Taufel regarding Tim Paine’s dismissal. And why he was OUT pic.twitter.com/eLtSfwiSKa
— Sarang Bhalerao (@bhaleraosarang) December 28, 2020